Game vs Smart Pampanga Buddies (Philippines)

Our lastest game of the Singapore Challenge series was yesterday against Smart Pampanga Buddies and we ended up winning comfortably 100-72 (Ng 25, Sandrin 18, Kirkland 12). This was in front of the biggest ever crowd at a Slingers game, approx 8,500 people.

It was a game in which we eventually wore down out opponents. The first half was fairly tight with the Buddies shooting very well from outside the three-point line, sometimes from way out. We ran out to an early lead only to be run down at one stage with the Buddies taking their only lead of the game at 41-39. We finished with a 10-0 run for the half to be up 49-41 (Ng 18, Sandrin 10).

slingers-challenge-series

The second half was a different tale. As in the first, we played some solid defence to force them to attack us form outside. However, this time their shots were not dropping and allowed us to rebound and run. I don’t have the box scores, but it seemed like almost every time down they would shoot and miss a three. We ended up putting points on the board very quickly and blew the lead out to 20+. In doing so, we were able to give a run to two of our newest members Desmond and Hong from the Singapore National team. They came out and played some great defence, with lots of energy and held their own on the court really well. Des had six points in the game. This bodes well for the future. Oh yeah, Sam Harris hit a three pointer to get us to 100 points. He is 100% from that range this year – 1/1.

My stats that I know of – 25 points: 7/10 FGs, 4/6 3PG, 7/7 FT.

This takes me to the overall spectacle of the double header. Of course there was the PBA game beforehand – Talk&Text vs San Miguel Beermen. When I entered the stadium, it was the biggest crowd I had seen in there, the atmosphere was fantastic. The whole show of the PBA game is quite entertaining. Their court announcer is great, the crowd get involved. Really quite professional. They play music non-stop throughout the game which can get annoying. I’m not so sure that the quality of the game matches up to the show however. The brand of basketball that I saw was fairly stagnant and mainly one-on-one almost like streetball. Perhaps they are trying to be like the NBA, but the the NBA has another higher level of athletes in comparison. Being the first PBA game I have seen, I guess I was a little disappointed in the standard, but it may have been a one off thing. There is no doubt that the PBA is very popular and that is something we here in Singapore are all envious of.

You may have noticed Janev was not there. He is back in Australia and heading off to Europe soon to play.

Jason has a good write-up of the game again, and Precious was there too taking photos.

This photo taken by Franz is what he likes to call the ‘Ninja move’ because of how I jump with my legs flying in all directions:

img_0486-copy4

This photo of the same play taken by Jason at a different angle:

3071348032_cc3cfddc87

10 responses to “Game vs Smart Pampanga Buddies (Philippines)

  1. the spirit of the game is for fun… not for competition or some standards set by any other else… maybe thats why few people here in singapore ever enjoy basketball… they just enjoy it when theyre team is winning… pinoys on the otherhand enjoy it win or loose… no standard, no expectation, just pure sheer fun… try that.. you’ll be surprise how much fun it could bring you even if you loose… anyway, basketball is just a game…

  2. I thot the game was full of excitement especially in the first half. They tried to get Eric & Pathman into trouble but they kept their cool. My kids and wife enjoyed it very much… oh and we were seated just 1 row below the folks that kept singing and yelling for the Slingers. They were the 2nd couple featured on the kiss cam.

  3. Yea, I was quite disappointed with the PBA games too. I expected a higher standard of play from the players. I realised that PBA teams force a lot of necessary shots and don’t really have set formations that brings the game to the international level. Sadly, this is the situation about ASEAN basketball. We do not have really good coaches that can set good plays that can enable the team to win. I don’t understand why most Singaporeans don’t enjoy to play or watch competitive basketball, because that is what basketball is about. They are more concern about using basketball as exercise. When I play at my neighbourhood everyone hates me when I start to compete. Perhaps it is the ASEAN culture?

    Anyway, it was a really nice shooting game for u, Darren!

  4. Congrats doc! U showed ur talent to the crowd once again. I was so bored through the first game until my eyes were lightened up by a grp of energetic players with bright uniforms. Sad to hear Janev has left, but I wish him all the best in Europe and hope to c him playing again.

  5. I will miss Janev, he is my favourite player last season. Anyway dont lose your morale during games against PBA teams. Dont forget that there are many slinger fans out there supporting.

  6. Yoz Doc,

    Gonna miss Janev too manz.

    Yeap, the stats for the slingers should be right. But think Desmond scored a 5 (2FG & 1 FT). Other stats ain’t as good ‘cos we only got things running 3 minutes into the game and with systems hanged at half-time. Sigh~ hopefully no repeats of such incidents again.

Leave a comment